Hendry/Glades Center Clubs

gsa-hendry-clubGay and Straight Alliance (GSA)

President: Austin English, aenglish1@edison.edu

Advisor: Professor Amanda Lehrian, alehrian@edison.edu

Encouraging individuals to co –exist as one unified society, in hopes of creating a better present and a more promising tomorrow.

Meetings: Every Thursday at 5:00pm in A-107

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)

President: Alma Benitez, abenitez2@edison.edu

Advisor: Professor Sandra Seifert, sseifert@edison.eduptk-club-hendry

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two – year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

sga-club-hendryStudent Government Association (SGA)

President: Jiesha Stephens, jstephens5@edison.edu

Advisor: Jaimee Howard, jamiee.howard@edison.edu

Student Government Association serves as the supreme governing body for all student clubs organizations and to also serve as a connection between the student body faculty and the administration of the college.

Meetings: Second and fourth Wednesday of every month at 5pm in B-006

The Science and Environmental Clubscience-club-hendry

President: Joseph McDaniel, jmcdaniel1@edison.edu

Advisor: Dr. Henry Hermann, hrhermann@edison.edu

The purpose of this organization shall be to provide a means for students to explore and learn about science and the environment that we share; to meet new people; and to better themselves and their lives with their knowledge.

Meetings: TBA

 

Service Learning Opportunities

Salvation Army

Every 2nd Tuesday of the month 9am to 12pm

Literacy Buddies

Ongoing throughout the school year

Trail ways Camp

October 7th-11th

The Florida Mud Cutters

Habitat for Humanity

 

Please see Jaimee Howard to learn more about the service learning opportunities in our community.